Lifetime Achievement Awards

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award

Cover of The Grasshopper and the Ants by Jerry Pinkney--2016 Laura Ingalls Wilder Award winner

At present, this award is awarded every two years to: "an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children." Given for a body of work, this may be the most truly prestigious of the ALA and ALSC awards, though not the best known.

Links go to lists of books by these authors on Amazon, or you can search on IndieBound.

The Margaret A. Edwards Award

This award honors an author's "lifetime contribution" in writing for young adults.

Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement

Awarded by the Coretta Scott King Award committee, this award recognizes "the quality and magnitude of beloved children’s author Virginia Hamilton." The award was first given in 2010.

The Hans Christian Andersen Award

This is an international lifetime achievement award given every two years to an author and illustrator "whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children's literature."

Children's Book Awards Index page

Newbery Medal | Caldecott Medal | Coretta Scott King Award | Young Adult Awards
NBA Young People's Award | Sibert Informational Book Award | Pura Belpré Award | Scott O'Dell Award

The Purple Crayon home page