The Newbery Medal

Cover of The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill--2017 Newbery Medal winner

This has been awarded annually by the American Library Association since 1922 "to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children." There is a medal winner and usually from one to five honor books. Sometimes referred to as the "Newbery award," the Newbery Medal is the oldest and most prestigious children's book award given in the United States.

The links in the book titles take you to Amazon; if you prefer you can search for information on IndieBound, the website of the independent booksellers. Scroll down past the book lists for links for more information and some interesting opinion pieces.

Newbery Medal winners:

Newbery Honor books:

More information:

Children's Book Awards Index page

Caldecott Medal | Coretta Scott King Award | Lifetime Achievement Awards | Young Adult Awards
NBA Young People's Award | Sibert Informational Book Award | Pura Belpré Award | Scott O'Dell Award

The Purple Crayon home page