Young Adult Book Awards

The two most significant YA awards are the Michael L. Printz Award, which has one annual winner and one or more honor books, and the Margaret Edwards Award, which is for lifetime achievement and is cross-referenced here to that page.

The links in the book titles take you to Amazon; if you prefer you can search for information on IndieBound, the website of the independent booksellers.

dotted line

The Michael L. Printz Award

Cover of Bone Gap by Laura Ruby--2016 Printz Award winner

This award goes annually to "a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature."

Printz Award winners:

Printz Honor books:

More information about the Printz Award: this link leads to the official site for the Award, which includes a complete list of past winners.

The Margaret A. Edwards Award

This is a "lifetime contribution" award for young adult writing, and so I cross-reference it here.

This page was compiled by Harold Underdown ( Google + Profile ) from information available on public websites.

Children's Book Awards Index page

Newbery Medal | Caldecott Medal | Coretta Scott King Award | Lifetime Achievement Awards
NBA Young People's Award | Sibert Informational Book Award | Pura Belpré Award | Scott O'Dell Award

The Purple Crayon home page